Flirting?

Ah, vegetarianism. I told you I never was the type of girl for commitment.  I flirt with you one week and then cheat on you with red meat the next. WOW. Being a vegetarian 5 days out of the week is hard. I don’t eat out very often, but when I do I find that it is really hard to get a good vegetarian meal at most restaurants. For example, I went to BJ’s bar and grill on Market Street on Tuesday, which specializes in steak, hamburgers, chicken wings and bongo bongo chicken sandwiches. So despite my general dislike of red meat, I got a hamburger (I really don’t know what I was thinking… I could have had something with chicken that would have been much better). The only other options would have been ginormous salads that cost 2 bucks more than the burgers/sandwiches, and let’s be real, I’m not trying to spend a lot of my own money on food right now.

Now, I’m home for spring break, which will also mess up my vegetarian plans. My dad, the cook in the family, doesn’t cook a single meal without meat. Not that many of them aren’t delicious, but he is certainly a larger fan of red meat than I am, and also has the “you’re in my house, you eat what I cook” mindset. Luckily, I have my mom, who is much more on board the healthy and partially vegetarian wagon I’m riding right now. She cooked a wonderful green soup with kale and spinach (can you believe this is the first time I’ve had kale? Its DELICIOUS) as a vegetarian option to steak and rice. Its nice to come home to good cooking, and even nicer when I have my mom on my side of healthy and responsible eating.

Leave a Reply

