Too busy to eat healthy?

I remember last semester I would wake up 15 minutes before class, run out the door and grab a muffin and a piece of fruit  from the caf as breakfast to eat in class. Now I try to make an effort to wake up early enough to have a proper sit-down breakfast of healthy food before class, but it is really hard sometimes. Sometimes, even moderately healthy breakfast doesn’t happen. This week I was totally swamped, and when I woke up early, it was to cram study for an exam. I wanted something quick to eat in my room, so what did I eat? Some suuuuuuper healthy Easy Mac, of course. At least I wasn’t starving all morning, but I certainly didn’t get a nutritious start to my day. And sadly, this happened 3 times last week. Sometimes I feel like I’m too busy to eat healthy, but it just sounds like an excuse in hindsight. When I think about it, what is more important than my health? Being in good health allows me to do everything that makes me so “busy” all the time. So shouldn’t my health be my first priority? I’m asking myself this now, but I’m pretty sure next week I’ll be “too busy” again. It is interesting how we can distance ourselves from what we know should be our highest priorities for things that seem more important or feel more important due to social expectations.

http://www.foodpolitics.com/2013/02/soda-size-cap-is-a-public-health-issue/

First off, Marion Nestle just totally shut-down that reader’s question. It makes me mad to think that people, whose health and best interests are being protected by this law, are opposed to it. But I guess that’s how it usually is with these things– there are always people fighting against public health policy that will be beneficial in the long run. So obviously I support this soda size cap; it just makes sense to me. I feel like I should have been surprised (but I wasn’t), when I read that in the 1950’s Coke advertised a 16 oz soda as big enough to serve 3 people. It makes sense- that’s double the size of a normal 8 oz beverage. But our size concepts of how large food and drink portions have to be are so skewed from the super-sizing effect of compaines like McDonalds and others. It makes me think of how they just put in these ridiculously sized drink cups in Benny’s. Now the smallest you can get is 22 oz! That’s huge! But its marketed as a “small” and the larges look more than twice the size.

Then Nestle went on to explain that this law isn’t a “nanny state” regulation, since consumers can choose to buy as many of the max size beverage they want. She also posits that we have to eat products that are fortified in vitamins and minerals, even if we don’t want to, due to other public health regulations. It is upsetting to me to read about how the Beverage Trade Association, which represents drink giants such as PepsiCo and Coca Cola, are spending sooooooooooo much money to partner with reputable civil rights associations to make this law a “racial” issue. I personally just can’t see how limiting soda size has ANYTHING to do with race. It is a health issue, and that is all. Stop trying to make it into a bigger or completely different issue than it is.

Leave a Reply

