Food Blog One, dude

I’m very interested to see how this class will affect the way I think about my food. I would consider myself already a pretty conscious eater, since I maintain a mainly vegetarian diet, with the exception of a little bit of chicken or fish. I choose to eat this way because of the adverse effects of large-scale beef and pork production, both for the animals themselves, as well as the environment. Because of my environmental concerns, I also try to be conscious about eating locally produced food. It is a challenge when eating from the food services at school, as I reflected upon this week, since I have little to no control over where my food comes from. However, I can say that I am happy to have slightly more knowledge about which foods are local, because I work closely with Bob Ginader, the director of food services, to increase the sustainability of our food services. Therefore we have discussed which foods are local (the bagels, the mixed fruits, some of the vegetables). I found myself thinking about this when I was making food choices this week, which lead to me eating a LOT of bagels. I really can’t complain, since they’re both local and totally tasty (I was pleasantly surprised to find blueberry and cinnamon raisin bagels along with plain this week!).

 

A Tale of Two Cities

http://bittman.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/11/12/a-tale-of-two-cities/

 

Though this article was pretty short, it gave me a lot to think about. I think most evocative was the comparison between the resistance to Prop 37 and people’s dislike of mandatory seat belt laws and bans of smoking in public places. In the end, both of these policies greatly helped to improve public health overall. Bittman makes the point that two California counties’ nearly 30% support of the soda tax shows their interest in protecting their children’s futures by self imposing a tax on themselves to decrease the consumption of sodas and sugar-filled soft drinks. Though the laws didn’t pass, the recognition of these drinks as unhealthy is a big step in the right direction. I am personally in favor of higher taxes on beverages like soft drinks, because by increasing the prices of these drinks, perhaps healthier options will seem more attractive cost and health wise. This would definitely help to combat the issue of extremely cheap but unhealthy diets consumed by people who do not have much money to spend on food. I’m very excited to see public support of this policy since I think it will have the same positive public health repercussions as the seat belt and no-smoking laws.

Leave a Reply

